Getting the fitness mojo back!!

tumblr_niabp2opjG1qgpy9ho1_500

Well it is officially February!! I can’t tell you how happy this last month has made. After a very generous and well fed Christmas and weeks of inactivity before that, to get out and do something physical felt so good! It was starting to feel as if certain muscle groups were becoming dormant while I sat in my usual food coma while watching marathon reruns of ‘Friends’. To do something positive with myself was such a joy, to sweat and push myself in to feel good endorphins. Although, I cant say it hasn’t been tough getting back in to the swing of being active and healthy!

I know for a lot of people, January comes with a lot of the ‘New year, new me’ craic. However, only 8% of these people will reach their resolutions. So I am going to talk to you about how to stay motivated all the way through February and hopefully the rest of the year!

  1. Summer bodies are made in winter. FACT.

It is very true. You may not be even thinking about that 2 piece on the beach right now. (However the thought of it would have anyone running to the nearest gym!!) Hot chocolate and other feel good winter warmers are all too tempting when it is minus 3458569854 outside. But see the winter as the perfect time to get yourself pool side ready! Try to visualise your goal 6months from now and remind yourself of this every time you feel like talking yourself out of a workout. Sweating it out 3-4 times a week in the gym will all be worth come June and you have the body you always wanted. Start now!

  1. Grab a gym buddy!

A second way to help keep yourself motivated is having an accountable buddy. When I first started working out and going to the gym I went with one of my friends from work. I found this was a serious motivator to get up at 6am for a spin class or drag myself after a long day at work/college. The fact that you’re going with someone means you’re less likely to back out of going. You find yourself not wanting to let them down and also it adds some fun factor to working out. It’s never a bad thing to have chin waggle and a catch up while slogging it out on the cross trainer.

  1. Create habits.

It has been scientifically proven that it takes 21 days to create a habit/routine. A great way to start these routines is to have set days which you are going to work and stick to them, NO EXCUSES!! For example, you could pick every Monday, Wednesday and Friday after work/school/college and stick to these days. I found when I started this there would be some days I would try talk myself out of it but as the Nike saying goes, just do it! And that is literally what you have to do. Starting an exercise routine has a lot to do with discipline, you won’t get results from making excuses. Keep that saying in your head and you will thank yourself after. The longer you keep the routine going, the harder it will be to break.

  1. Make the right food choices.

I am not one of those people that are in to these super strict, vegan, gluten free, dairy free diets. While it may work for others, it just doesn’t work for me. I found myself hungry and grumpy which led to me making really bad choices, i.e. going on a binge! Over the past few years I have been exercising and eating healthy I have found moderation is key! The big thing I did when I first started working out was to cut out the obvious baddies!! For example, chocolate, pizza, crisps, chips etc. I made sure my diet consisted of natural, whole foods, such as vegetables, fruits, rice, potatoes, meat etc. I am not a nutrition expert by any stretch, but I have done some research in to what is good, bad and ok when it comes to diet. It’s all about finding what works for you!!  I believe there is no point on setting out for a healthier life but being unhappy while doing it. So just remember, the right choices and moderation and all the instant benefits that come with a healthy lifestyle!

Hopefully this will help keep you motivated towards your fitness goals!!
Victoria

Leave a Reply

